Start here

Quick picks

Ghost is the best Substack alternative for most paid newsletter writers: Publisher costs $29 per month on yearly billing and Ghost takes no cut of subscription revenue. Pick Beehiiv for growth tools and sponsorships, and Kit when the newsletter feeds a wider creator business.

At a glance

Scroll horizontally to view every column. Select a column heading to sort.

Product comparison
Best forStarting priceFree planFree trialKey featureIndustries
BeehiivView website (opens in a new tab)Newsletter-first operators who plan to monetize with ads, sponsorships, or a paid tier.$0.00 / month (Free plan)YesYesNewsletter publishing with growth and monetization tools.Small business, Agencies
Kit (formerly ConvertKit)View website (opens in a new tab)Creators, coaches, and independent publishers who monetize an audience directly.$0.00 / month (Newsletter free plan)YesYesTag-based subscriber model that makes segmentation and automation predictable.Small business, Agencies
MailerLiteView website (opens in a new tab)Small businesses and solo operators who want clean templates and simple automations at the lowest price.$0.00 / month (Free plan)YesYesFree tier that includes automations, not just broadcasts.Small business
WordPress.comView website (opens in a new tab)Content-first operators and publishers who want WordPress without running their own hosting.$0.00 / month (Free plan)YesYesWordPress's plugin and theme ecosystem, hosted so you do not manage the server.Small business, Agencies, Professional services

A dash means no value has been supplied. Price sorting is unavailable when currencies or billing periods differ.

Best for Newsletter-first operators who plan to monetize with ads, sponsorships, or a paid tier.

Beehiiv

A newsletter platform with built-in growth, referrals, and monetization tools, built by former Morning Brew operators.

Pricing

Starting at $0.00 / month (Free plan)

Free tier plus subscriber-count subscription

Verified

Pros

  • The Free plan supports up to 2,500 subscribers.
  • Eligible paid plans offer Ad Network and other monetization tools.
  • Paid features support newsletter growth and publishing workflows.

Cons

  • Ad eligibility and revenue are not guaranteed.
  • Compare exact automation needs and plan entitlements; no controlled inbox-placement ranking is established here.

Sources & references

  1. Beehiiv official pricing — month (Free plan) — BeehiivAccessed
  2. Beehiiv official homepage — BeehiivAccessed

Best for Creators, coaches, and independent publishers who monetize an audience directly.

Kit (formerly ConvertKit)

An email service provider built for creators and independent publishers, focused on tagging, automations, and landing pages.

Pricing

Starting at $0.00 / month (Newsletter free plan)

Free tier plus subscriber-count subscription

Verified

Pros

  • Free Newsletter plan supports up to 10,000 subscribers.
  • Subscriber tags and paid visual automations support creator workflows.
  • Landing pages and forms support audience signup.

Cons

  • Paid pricing scales with subscriber tier.
  • Templates and workflow requirements should be tested before migration.

Sources & references

  1. Kit (formerly ConvertKit) official pricing — month (Newsletter free plan) — Kit (formerly ConvertKit)Accessed
  2. Kit (formerly ConvertKit) official homepage — Kit (formerly ConvertKit)Accessed

Best for Small businesses and solo operators who want clean templates and simple automations at the lowest price.

MailerLite

A budget email marketing platform with clean templates, automations, and landing pages, popular with small businesses and solopreneurs.

Pricing

Starting at $0.00 / month (Free plan)

Free tier plus subscriber-count subscription

Verified

Pros

  • Free plan supports 250 subscribers and 2,500 monthly emails.
  • Paid Comfort and Power plans cover larger lists.
  • Automation includes condition steps.

Cons

  • New accounts must meet the provider's approval and use requirements.
  • Multiple automation triggers require Power, with up to three per workflow.

Sources & references

  1. MailerLite official pricing — month (Free plan) — MailerLiteAccessed
  2. MailerLite official homepage — MailerLiteAccessed

Best for Content-first operators and publishers who want WordPress without running their own hosting.

WordPress.com

Automattic's hosted WordPress service, offering managed WordPress hosting with plans from free to enterprise.

Pricing

Starting at $0.00 / month (Free plan)

Free tier plus tiered subscription

Verified

Pros

  • Hosted WordPress publishing.
  • Plugins are supported on every paid plan.
  • Export options support moving content, subject to feature and compatibility checks.

Cons

  • The free plan has limits and does not include paid-plan plugin installation.
  • Business annual pricing currently displays $25 monthly initially and $30 monthly on annual renewal.

Sources & references

  1. WordPress.com official pricing — month (Free plan) — WordPress.comAccessed
  2. WordPress.com official homepage — WordPress.comAccessed

Pros

  • Works through the full fee stack for a $5 plan with 1,000 paid subscribers.
  • Names a winner for each common reason writers leave Substack.
  • Labels prices the vendor did not publish instead of guessing.

Cons

  • No hands-on migration or deliverability testing.
  • Buttondown and Kit fee details could not be confirmed from public pages.

Short answer

Ghost is the best Substack alternative for most writers with a paid newsletter. It costs $29 per month on annual billing for the Publisher plan, charges no platform transaction fee, and gives you a publication you can shape around your own domain. The trade-off is real: that plan includes 1,000 registered members, so it is not the cheap answer for a large free list. Ghost's pricing page was checked on 2026-10-12.

Substack is free for a free publication, but its own help page says paid subscriptions carry a 10% platform fee, plus Stripe's card and recurring-billing charges. That is why the comparison changes once reader revenue matters. Substack's paid-subscription FAQ also says every publication must offer both monthly and annual plans.

This is a research-based buying guide, not a hands-on test. It focuses on the reasons writers actually move: keeping more paid revenue, having more control over a site and search presentation, or separating a membership business from a single hosted network. For adjacent tools, start with ToolCurrent's email marketing hub.

The short list

OptionBest forPublished price checked 2026-10-12Fee positionMain limitation
GhostMost paid newsletter writersPublisher $29/mo yearly0% Ghost transaction fee1,000 registered members on Publisher
BeehiivGrowth and sponsor-led publicationsLite $49/mo yearly0% paid-subscription take rateLite is $59/mo on monthly billing
KitCreator funnels and automationsCreator $33/mo at 1,000 subscribersFee detail is unclear on the fetched pageLess direct cost transparency
ButtondownA simple writer-first email setupBase price not verifiedNot publishedNo public base-price table
PatreonMembership that includes more than newslettersFree to start10% of Patreon incomeExtra processing and payout charges apply
MailerLiteCheap small-list email marketingComfort $12/mo, Power $25/moNot publishedComfort has a send allowance
WordPress.com + newsletterA publication-first siteBusiness $40/mo monthly or $25/mo annual0% WooCommerce payments fee on BusinessIncluded email marketing is only for 500 subscribers

Prices are vendor list prices, exclude taxes unless the vendor says otherwise, and are not a promise of checkout pricing in every country. A price marked not verified is not a guess.

Why the 10% cut is a bigger issue than it first appears

Substack says there are no monthly fees or free-tier subscriber limits, and that it takes a 10% revenue share when a writer earns through paid subscriptions. Substack's feature page says payments run through Stripe. Its FAQ lists 2.9% plus $0.30 per card transaction and a 0.5% recurring-subscription fee in addition to the 10% platform fee. The FAQ is the source for that fee stack.

Here is the arithmetic for a US-dollar example: 1,000 paid readers each pay $5 per month.

  • Gross subscription revenue: 1,000 x $5 = $5,000 per month.
  • Substack fee: 10% x $5,000 = $500.
  • Stripe domestic card processing: 2.9% x $5,000 = $145.
  • Stripe fixed processing: 1,000 x $0.30 = $300.
  • Stripe Billing fee: 0.5% x $5,000 = $25.
  • Total stated fees: $500 + $145 + $300 + $25 = $970 per month.
  • Revenue left before taxes, refunds, chargebacks, and other costs: $5,000 - $970 = $4,030 per month.

Stripe's current public US rate is 2.9% plus 30 cents for a successful domestic card payment, and its pay-as-you-go Billing rate is 0.7% of Billing volume. Stripe's pricing page should be checked at the point of purchase because Substack's FAQ says 0.5%, while Stripe's current public Billing page says 0.7%. The $970 calculation uses Substack's own documented 0.5% figure, not an invented blended rate.

That mismatch is useful information, not a rounding error. Before migration, ask Substack or Stripe which recurring-billing rate applies to your connected account and model a full year of renewals.

1. Ghost: winner for most paid newsletter writers

Ghost Publisher is the cleanest answer for a writer whose paid newsletter is becoming a real publication. Its official pricing page lists Publisher at $29 per month billed yearly, with three staff users, 1,000 registered members, three newsletters, three premium tiers, and unlimited email sends. Ghost says it adds no transaction fee to premium subscriptions, although payment processor fees still apply. Ghost pricing verified those details on 2026-10-12.

The ownership and site-control case is stronger than the fee case alone. Ghost says its software is open source, and its Substack comparison says publishers own their content, subscriber list, code, and Stripe billing account. It also lists XML sitemaps, canonical tags, optimized URLs, and semantic markup as built-in publishing features. Ghost's Substack comparison is vendor material, so treat the contrast as Ghost's view, but the product details make the direction clear.

At the $5,000 monthly-gross example, Ghost's annual-billing hosting equivalent is $29 a month, or $348 a year. Ghost does not take a percentage of subscription revenue. That is $471 less in platform charges each month than Substack's $500 fee before payment processing. The processor bill still needs to be paid.

Best avoided when: you have more than 1,000 registered members today and want to stay on Publisher. Free readers count toward the registered-member allowance, so a 15,000-person free list changes the plan decision fast.

2. Beehiiv: winner for growth and sponsorships

Beehiiv fits a publication that wants built-in growth and ad monetization alongside subscriptions. Its pricing page lists Free at $0 for up to 2,500 subscribers, Lite at $49 per month on yearly billing for up to 100,000 subscribers, and Pro at $95 per month on yearly billing for up to 250,000 subscribers. Every plan includes unlimited email sends. Beehiiv pricing says Lite and Pro have a 0% take rate on paid subscriptions; Stripe processing is stated as 2.9% plus $0.30 per transaction.

For the same $5,000 monthly-gross, 1,000-paid-reader example, the known monthly charges are $49 for Lite plus $145 in percentage processing plus $300 in fixed processing, or $494 before taxes and charges not stated on that page. This comparison does not add a recurring-billing fee because Beehiiv's page does not state one. The result is not a complete checkout forecast, but it makes the platform-fee difference visible.

Best avoided when: you want the lowest bill on a small list. On 2026-10-19 the Beehiiv pricing page showed Lite at $59 per month on monthly billing and $49 on yearly billing, well above MailerLite's $12 Comfort entry.

If the decision is mainly Beehiiv versus a creator-email tool, read Kit vs Beehiiv.

3. Kit: winner for a creator business with funnels

Kit is the better choice when a paid newsletter is one part of a creator business that also needs landing pages, sequences, and selling flows. Its official page lists Free at $0 up to 10,000 subscribers, Creator at $33 per month for 1,000 email subscribers, and an annual Creator bill of $390. Kit says paid plans have unlimited subscribers and no email-sending limits. Kit pricing was checked on 2026-10-12.

The pricing page includes subscription and digital-product fee language, but the extracted comparison does not label fee rows clearly enough to assign a defensible rate to Creator or Pro. Do not use a third-party fee number in a migration spreadsheet as if it were current vendor policy. Ask Kit for the fee that applies to your account and payment flow.

Best avoided when: your first reason for leaving is fee certainty. Kit may be a sound product fit, but the publicly visible fee presentation did not support an apples-to-apples paid-newsletter calculation on the verification date.

4. Buttondown: winner for writers who want fewer moving parts

Buttondown is for the writer who would rather send a good issue than configure a marketing suite. Its pricing page says billing is based on active subscribers, and its listed prices assume no more than one email per day to the entire subscriber base. More frequent full-list sends require a conversation about usage-based pricing. Buttondown pricing also lists a $9-per-month paid-subscriptions add-on and $29-per-month custom-domain archives add-on.

There is no public base-plan table on that page. That means total cost is not verified 2026-10-12. It is still a viable shortlist item, just not one that can be honestly ranked as cheaper than Substack from public list prices.

Best avoided when: you need a fixed quote today for a board, employer, or multi-year budget. Get a written estimate based on your active list and sending pattern first.

5. Patreon: winner for a broader membership, not newsletter economics

Patreon is useful when the membership includes posts, audio, community access, or other benefits that happen to include email. It is free to start, but Patreon says it takes 10% of income earned on Patreon. Payment processing, currency conversion, payout fees, taxes also apply. Patreon's pricing page does not publish rates for those additional charges.

That stated 10% makes Patreon a poor escape route if Substack's 10% is the main problem. It may still win if its membership format earns you more or cuts administrative work. That is a business-model decision, not a fee-saving move.

Best avoided when: you are moving only to stop a 10% revenue share. Patreon's disclosed platform share is the same 10%.

6. MailerLite: winner for a low-cost small list

MailerLite is an email-marketing option for a writer who wants a simpler paid plan before a publication stack becomes necessary. Its official page lists Free at $0 up to 250 subscribers, Comfort from $12 per month, and Power from $25 per month. Free includes 2,500 monthly emails; Comfort has a monthly allowance tied to the subscriber-tier ceiling, while Power lists unlimited emails subject to fair use. MailerLite pricing was verified on 2026-10-12.

The limitation is in the display itself. The Comfort card showed conflicting or poorly formatted price fragments for different list sizes, so the exact annual effective price is not verified 2026-10-12. The $12 monthly starting price is stated in the vendor FAQ. MailerLite is better for a small email list than for a large paid publication that needs a native membership and publication experience.

Best avoided when: you send more than ten times to the tier ceiling each month on Comfort. Its allowance can force an upgrade at the exact moment a frequent newsletter gains traction.

ToolCurrent's MailerLite alternatives guide has more options for small-list operators.

7. WordPress.com plus its newsletter tools: winner for site-first publishing

WordPress.com makes sense for a writer whose first priority is owning a flexible publication site, with email as one channel. The official page lists Business at $40 per month on monthly billing or $25 per month on annual billing. Business includes plugin installation, 50 GB storage, and email marketing for 500 subscribers using MailPoet Business. WordPress.com pricing says the built-in newsletter has unlimited subscribers, but the Business email-marketing allowance is 500 subscribers.

That difference matters. "Unlimited newsletter subscribers" is not the same promise as included paid email marketing for a 20,000-person list. WordPress.com lists 0% transaction fees for WooCommerce payments on Business and Commerce, but standard payment processing still applies.

Best avoided when: you want an out-of-the-box replacement for a 1,000-plus paid email list. The published Business email allowance is 500 subscribers, so you need to price a higher plan or a separate email tool before moving.

For a broader email-platform cost comparison, see Mailchimp alternatives.

Migration checklist: do this before canceling Substack

  1. Export posts, subscribers, and optional stats. Substack says a full export includes posts in CSV and HTML, subscriber lists, and optional stats. Its feature page also says posts and subscribers can be exported at any time.
  2. Make a subscriber-count sheet with free, paid, comped, and inactive addresses separated. Ghost bills by registered members, while Buttondown says it bills for active subscribers. Different definitions change the quote.
  3. Confirm how active paid subscriptions move. Ghost says it can migrate content, subscribers, subscriptions, and payments from Substack, but ask what is included for your plan before choosing a date.
  4. Save your current URLs, top posts, canonical settings, title tags, and referral sources. Redirect old URLs where the new host supports it, then monitor search traffic after launch.
  5. Build the paid offer, welcome email, and renewal policy before importing the list. Do not turn migration day into a product redesign.
  6. Send a short advance notice from Substack and another from the new sender. Explain the new domain, sender address, and what readers need to do, if anything.
  7. Keep the old publication readable during the transition. Test checkout, a paid-login flow, archive links, mobile email rendering, and unsubscribe behavior with a small group before the public move.

For the common paid writer, choose Ghost Publisher if your list fits its member limit and your priority is a durable publication with no platform take rate. Choose Beehiiv if growth tooling and sponsorships are central to the plan. Choose Kit if the newsletter feeds a wider creator funnel. The wrong move is swapping hosts without modeling fees, member definitions, and subscription migration first.

How to choose

  1. Platform share of subscription revenue
  2. Payment processing and billing fees
  3. Member and subscriber limits
  4. Growth and monetization tools
  5. Ownership of the list, site, and billing account

Final verdict

For a writer earning real subscription revenue, Ghost Publisher wins. At 1,000 paid subscribers on a $5 plan, Substack's 10% share is $500 a month, while Ghost's hosting is $29 a month on yearly billing before payment processing. Check Ghost's 1,000-member allowance first.

Our evaluation process

Research and methodology

Research-based comparison of official vendor pricing and fee pages, checked 2026-10-12, with Ghost, Stripe, Beehiiv, and Kit rechecked 2026-10-19 and 2026-10-20. No hands-on account testing. Prices marked not verified were not shown on the vendor page.

Read our review methodology

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest Substack alternative for a paid newsletter?

On platform fees, Ghost is the strongest option for most paid writers: Publisher is $29 per month on yearly billing and Ghost takes no share of subscription revenue. Payment processor fees still apply on every platform.

Does Substack charge a monthly fee?

No. Substack says there is no monthly fee, but it takes 10% of paid subscription revenue, and Stripe card and billing fees are charged on top.

Sources & references

  1. Ghost's pricing page — GhostAccessed
  2. Substack's paid-subscription FAQ — SubstackAccessed
  3. Substack's feature page — SubstackAccessed
  4. Stripe's pricing page — StripeAccessed
  5. Ghost's Substack comparison — GhostAccessed
  6. Beehiiv pricing — BeehiivAccessed
  7. Kit pricing — KitAccessed
  8. Buttondown pricing — ButtondownAccessed
  9. Patreon's pricing page — PatreonAccessed
  10. MailerLite pricing — MailerLiteAccessed
  11. WordPress.com pricing — WordPress.comAccessed