Start here
Quick picks
For creator newsletters, Kit wins because its free plan reaches 10,000 subscribers. For lifecycle automation on a small budget, Brevo wins with Starter from $9/mo. For the lowest paid entry on a small list, MailerLite Comfort starts at $12/mo.
At a glance
Scroll horizontally to view every column. Select a column heading to sort.
| Best for | Starting price | Free plan | Free trial | Key feature | Industries | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kit (formerly ConvertKit)View website (opens in a new tab) | Creators, coaches, and independent publishers who monetize an audience directly. | $0.00 / month (Newsletter free plan) | Yes | Yes | Tag-based subscriber model that makes segmentation and automation predictable. | Small business, Agencies |
| BeehiivView website (opens in a new tab) | Newsletter-first operators who plan to monetize with ads, sponsorships, or a paid tier. | $0.00 / month (Free plan) | Yes | Yes | Newsletter publishing with growth and monetization tools. | Small business, Agencies |
| MailerLiteView website (opens in a new tab) | Small businesses and solo operators who want clean templates and simple automations at the lowest price. | $0.00 / month (Free plan) | Yes | Yes | Free tier that includes automations, not just broadcasts. | Small business |
A dash means no value has been supplied. Price sorting is unavailable when currencies or billing periods differ.
Best for Creators, coaches, and independent publishers who monetize an audience directly.
Kit (formerly ConvertKit)
An email service provider built for creators and independent publishers, focused on tagging, automations, and landing pages.
Pricing
Starting at $0.00 / month (Newsletter free plan)
Free tier plus subscriber-count subscription
Verified
Pros
- Free Newsletter plan supports up to 10,000 subscribers.
- Subscriber tags and paid visual automations support creator workflows.
- Landing pages and forms support audience signup.
Cons
- Paid pricing scales with subscriber tier.
- Templates and workflow requirements should be tested before migration.
Sources & references
- Kit (formerly ConvertKit) official pricing — month (Newsletter free plan) — Kit (formerly ConvertKit)Accessed
- Kit (formerly ConvertKit) official homepage — Kit (formerly ConvertKit)Accessed
Best for Newsletter-first operators who plan to monetize with ads, sponsorships, or a paid tier.
Beehiiv
A newsletter platform with built-in growth, referrals, and monetization tools, built by former Morning Brew operators.
Pricing
Starting at $0.00 / month (Free plan)
Free tier plus subscriber-count subscription
Verified
Pros
- The Free plan supports up to 2,500 subscribers.
- Eligible paid plans offer Ad Network and other monetization tools.
- Paid features support newsletter growth and publishing workflows.
Cons
- Ad eligibility and revenue are not guaranteed.
- Compare exact automation needs and plan entitlements; no controlled inbox-placement ranking is established here.
Sources & references
- Beehiiv official pricing — month (Free plan) — BeehiivAccessed
- Beehiiv official homepage — BeehiivAccessed
Best for Small businesses and solo operators who want clean templates and simple automations at the lowest price.
MailerLite
A budget email marketing platform with clean templates, automations, and landing pages, popular with small businesses and solopreneurs.
Pricing
Starting at $0.00 / month (Free plan)
Free tier plus subscriber-count subscription
Verified
Pros
- Free plan supports 250 subscribers and 2,500 monthly emails.
- Paid Comfort and Power plans cover larger lists.
- Automation includes condition steps.
Cons
- New accounts must meet the provider's approval and use requirements.
- Multiple automation triggers require Power, with up to three per workflow.
Sources & references
- MailerLite official pricing — month (Free plan) — MailerLiteAccessed
- MailerLite official homepage — MailerLiteAccessed
Pros
- Every price comes from the vendor's own pricing page with a check date.
- A named winner for each of the three most common reasons to leave Mailchimp.
- Each option includes one honest limitation and who should avoid it.
Cons
- No hands-on deliverability testing; inbox placement varies by sender reputation.
- Prices shift with contact count, so a quote for your exact list size may differ.
Short answer
If you outgrew Mailchimp's 250-contact Free plan, you are hunting for two things: a lower monthly bill at your subscriber count, and a plan whose sending policy matches how you actually use email. This piece compares the seven alternatives most operators shortlist in 2026, using each vendor's own pricing page (first checked September 15, 2026, and rechecked October 5, 2026), and picks a winner for the three most common scenarios: growing a paid newsletter, running lifecycle automation for a small business, and starting free with room to scale.
The short answer: for creator newsletters, Kit wins because the free plan reaches 10,000 subscribers. For lifecycle automation on a real business budget, Brevo wins because Starter starts at $9/mo with no monthly send cap. For sponsor-monetized newsletters, Beehiiv wins because it runs its own ad network and Lite covers up to 100,000 subscribers for $49/mo on yearly billing.
Full comparison, honest limitations, and where each option is a bad fit below.
Why people leave Mailchimp
Mailchimp's Free plan caps at 250 contacts and pauses sending when you exceed the cap, per Mailchimp's Marketing pricing page on 2026-10-05. From there, prices climb by contact count and by plan tier, and Mailchimp does not publish exact dollar figures on its public pricing page for the 1,000 or 10,000 subscriber tiers. The most common triggers to look elsewhere:
- Free tier hits 250 contacts fast; the sending pause is abrupt.
- Prices scale by contact count and are not on the public page.
- MMS is US and Canada only, and Predictive Segmentation is only on Standard and Premium tiers.
- Phone support calls are English only, per Mailchimp's own pricing page.
If any of those match your situation, one of the seven below is likely a better fit.
The 7 alternatives, by primary-source pricing
Every price and cap in this table is from the vendor's own pricing page, rechecked on 2026-10-05. Where a vendor does not publish a specific tier price on its public page, this table says so.
| Tool | Free plan | Free sub cap | Free send cap | Paid starts | Notes on cap |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mailchimp | Yes | 250 contacts | Not stated | Not shown | Sending pauses at cap |
| Kit | Yes | 10,000 subscribers | Not stated | Creator $33/mo, $390/yr at 1,000 | No monthly send cap published |
| Beehiiv | Yes (Free) | 2,500 subscribers | Not stated on pricing card | Lite $49/mo billed yearly, up to 100,000 | Tiers renamed in fall 2026 |
| MailerLite | Yes | 250 subscribers | 2,500 emails/mo | Comfort from $12/mo | Comfort cap is 10x the tier ceiling |
| GetResponse | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Starter $19/mo, $15.58/mo yearly | Free plan brands all sends |
| ActiveCampaign | 14-day trial only | No free plan | No free plan | Starter $15/mo; Plus $49/mo at 1,000 contacts, billed annually | Prices shown on annual billing |
| Brevo | Yes | Not stated | 300 sends/day | Starter $9/mo; 10 pct yearly discount | Send tiers 5,000 to 100,000/mo |
| Buttondown | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not shown | Assumes at most 1 send/day to full list |
Kit and Beehiiv have the highest free-tier ceilings, which is why creators leave Mailchimp for one of those two. Brevo and MailerLite have the lowest paid entry price. ActiveCampaign Plus and Beehiiv Lite tie at $49/mo on annual billing, the highest paid entry points in the group.
Kit: winner for creator newsletters
Kit (formerly ConvertKit) offers a Free plan up to 10,000 subscribers, per Kit's pricing page verified 2026-10-05. Paid Creator is $33/mo or $390/yr, and Pro is $66/mo or $790/yr, both quoted at 1,000 subscribers with a 14-day free trial and no credit card required. Pay yearly saves 17 percent.
Best for: Solo creators and paid-newsletter operators who want a large free tier and want the audience-building features (landing pages, sequences, recommendations network) that Kit is built around.
Best avoided when: You need a published monthly sending cap for compliance reporting or a contract requires it in writing. Kit does not state a per-plan sending limit or a free-tier sending cap on its pricing page, and treating "unlimited" as a promise is a bad idea for regulated senders.
Honest limitation: Higher paid tiers (10,000 subscribers and up) are visible only when you move the subscriber selector on the pricing page. The percentage annual discount is consistent, but the ceiling prices are not stated on the default view.
For a head-to-head on the creator side, see Kit vs Beehiiv.
Beehiiv: winner for sponsor-monetized newsletters
Beehiiv's pricing page on 2026-10-05 lists Free at $0 for up to 2,500 subscribers, Lite at $49/mo on yearly billing for up to 100,000 subscribers, Pro at $95/mo on yearly billing for up to 250,000 subscribers, and Enterprise at custom pricing. Beehiiv's ad network and referral program are the differentiators.
Best for: Newsletter operators who plan to monetize with sponsors or an ad network, not with paid subscriptions alone. The 100,000-subscriber ceiling on Lite is the single-price sweet spot for growing publications.
Best avoided when: You want the cheapest paid plan. Beehiiv Lite at $49/mo on yearly billing costs four times MailerLite Comfort at $12/mo. If your business model is paid-subscription-first without sponsor revenue, Kit or Buttondown are better matches.
Honest limitation: Beehiiv renamed its tiers between our 2026-09-15 and 2026-10-05 checks (Launch, Scale, and Max became Free, Lite, and Pro), and the pricing page shows yearly-billing prices only. Confirm the monthly-billing figure and the current feature list at checkout.
MailerLite: winner on entry price for small lists
MailerLite pricing on 2026-10-05 lists Free at 250 subscribers and 2,500 emails/month, Comfort starting at $12/month, Power starting at $25/month, and Enterprise custom above 200,000 subscribers. Comfort's monthly sending cap is 10 times the tier ceiling (so the up-to-1,000-subscribers tier includes 10,000 monthly emails). Power is described as unlimited monthly emails under a fair use policy.
Best for: Small businesses with lists under 1,000 who want a cheap, credit-card-friendly entry point at $12/mo and don't need heavy automation logic.
Best avoided when: Your monthly send-to-subscriber ratio is above 10 to 1 on the Comfort tier. The 10x cap catches operators who mail a small list frequently (daily digest publishers, deal alerts) and quietly forces them to Power or a bigger tier.
Honest limitation: MailerLite does not publish 1,000 or 10,000 subscriber tier prices on the main pricing page. Third-party MailerLite pricing pages report different numbers for the same tier depending on the year of the snapshot; treat only the vendor page as canonical.
See the deeper cut on the MailerLite alternatives page for adjacent options.
Brevo: winner for transactional and lifecycle automation on a small budget
Brevo's public pricing page on 2026-10-05 does not display exact dollar figures on the marketing platform view. The Brevo help center does list Free at $0, Starter from $9/mo, Enterprise custom, with a 10 percent yearly discount across paid plans. The Free plan sends up to 300 emails per day (no explicit monthly cap). Starter has no daily limit; monthly send tiers span 5,000 to 100,000.
Best for: Operators running both marketing and transactional sends who want SMTP relay, contact-based pricing that does not spike with list size, and a Starter plan under $10/mo.
Best avoided when: You need a Business plan with a published price. The Business plan is on the pricing page but the exact dollar figure is not disclosed publicly; you have to talk to sales or enter your details.
Honest limitation: The 300-daily-send cap on Free is easy to hit for anyone with a modest active list. It caps you at roughly 9,000 sends a month regardless of subscriber count, which is tighter than it sounds when you factor in transactional overhead.
ActiveCampaign: automation depth if the budget is there
ActiveCampaign's pricing page, set to 1,000 email contacts on 2026-10-05, shows Starter at $15/mo, Plus at $49/mo, Pro at $79/mo, and Enterprise starting at $145/mo, all billed annually. Prices rise with the contact count you select.
Best for: Small-to-mid businesses that need conditional automations and CRM sync, and can justify a $49/mo Plus tier at 1,000 contacts on annual billing. Deliverability and automation logic are ActiveCampaign's strongest tools.
Best avoided when: You are price-sensitive under 5,000 contacts. Brevo, Kit, MailerLite, and Buttondown all deliver a lower monthly bill at that list size.
Honest limitation: ActiveCampaign prices sit behind a contact-count selector and are shown on annual billing. For a buyer comparing five vendors in a spreadsheet, getting an exact quote for your list size takes extra clicks.
GetResponse: functional but the free plan brands you
GetResponse on 2026-10-05 lists Starter at $19/mo or $15.58/mo billed yearly (save up to $41), Marketer at $59/mo or $48.38/mo yearly, Creator at $69/mo or $56.58/mo yearly, and Enterprise custom. Monthly emails are unlimited across paid plans. GetResponse's free tier is 14 days after which the account remains usable in a limited free version.
Best for: Operators who want webinar hosting and course-selling functionality on the same platform as their email. GetResponse is one of the few in this list that includes those.
Best avoided when: You want a fully free plan without vendor branding. On the free version, every message carries the GetResponse badge, per its pricing page.
Honest limitation: Landing-page visits on the free tier are capped at 1,000 unique visitors per month, which most growing lists exceed within days.
Buttondown: for writers who want simple
Buttondown pricing on 2026-10-05 assumes at most one send per day to the full subscriber base. Higher send frequencies require a conversation about usage-based pricing. The page does not publish a public plan grid.
Best for: Writers and independent operators who want minimal features and a low-drama product, and who send a newsletter once a week or once a day.
Best avoided when: You send transactional messages, run multi-step automations, or expect more than daily sends to your full list. Buttondown will need to price you separately and the process is manual.
Honest limitation: No public plan table. This works for someone who wants to email support with their subscriber count; it does not work for a buyer comparing five options in one afternoon.
How to pick
Match your primary use case to one product; do not shop by feature checklist.
- Paid or free newsletter with 500 to 10,000 subscribers, no sponsor plan yet: Kit Free, then Creator when you cross monetization.
- Sponsor-first newsletter, planning to grow past 25,000 subscribers: Beehiiv Free, then Lite.
- Small business with lifecycle emails and transactional sends, budget under $50/mo: Brevo Starter.
- Small list, minimum monthly cost, few automations: MailerLite Comfort.
- Course seller or webinar host who also runs email: GetResponse Starter or Marketer.
- Serious lifecycle automation, budget around $50/mo or more: ActiveCampaign Plus.
- Writer, single weekly send, minimum features: Buttondown.
What to watch for when switching
Two failure modes to plan around:
-
List import friction. Every vendor requires a re-confirmation flow for a certain subset of imported contacts. Kit and Beehiiv are the strictest; MailerLite and Brevo are more permissive. Budget a 5 to 12 percent list drop on migration and treat the number as normal.
-
Automation rebuild time. Rebuilding a moderately complex Mailchimp Customer Journey in ActiveCampaign, Brevo, or Kit is a two-to-three-day project for a solo operator. Estimate accordingly.
The pricing page you rely on today may change the week after you migrate. Every figure in this piece was rechecked on 2026-10-05; check the vendor's page against the date before committing.
How to choose
- Monthly cost at your current list size
- Free-plan subscriber ceiling
- Sending limits and policy
- Automation depth
- Monetization features for newsletters
Final verdict
Most readers leaving Mailchimp should start with Kit if they publish a newsletter and Brevo if they run business email. Beehiiv is the pick for sponsor-funded newsletters, and ActiveCampaign only makes sense when automation depth justifies $49/mo or more.
Our evaluation process
Research and methodology
Research-based comparison of each vendor's official pricing page, first checked 2026-09-15 and rechecked 2026-10-05. No hands-on account testing. Prices change by contact count and billing period, so confirm at checkout.
Read our review methodologySources & references
- Kit — KitAccessed
- Brevo — BrevoAccessed
- Beehiiv — BeehiivAccessed
- Mailchimp's Marketing pricing page — MailchimpAccessed
- MailerLite pricing — MailerLiteAccessed
- Brevo help center — BrevoAccessed
- ActiveCampaign's pricing page — ActiveCampaignAccessed
- GetResponse — GetResponseAccessed
- Buttondown pricing — ButtondownAccessed